Works by Women

Tuesday evenings: April 27 - May 20 | Streaming

Series Overview

Purchase individual events

SCMS is presenting a weekly virtual series that offers an opportunity to learn about specific works by women composers. Each 1-hour event will spotlight a composer with a brief biographical sketch; then we will dive deep into a specific work by that composer alongside an SCMS Festival Musician.

The live, interactive events will take place on Tuesday evenings at 6pm Pacific Time via the Zoom platform.



Schedule of Events

April 27: British composer Rebecca Clarke’s iconic Viola Sonata from the early 20th-century with violist Richard O’Neill
May 4: Icelandic composer Thuridur Jónsdóttir’s 48 Images of the Moon with cellist Sæunn Thorsteinsdóttir
May 11: American composer and violinist Jessie Montgomery’s Rhapsody No. 1 for Violin with violinist Benjamin Beilman
May 18: German composer Clara Schumann’s Three Romances, Op. 21 with pianist Jeewon Park

Subscriptions are $40 for the complete series, or you can purchase access to individual events for $12 per event. After purchasing access, you will receive a link to that event’s specific piece of music, as well as a link via Zoom for each conversation.

pre-concert recitals
family concerts
park concerts
open rehearsals
classical conversations