2008 Emerging Artist Concert //

Full Program

Thursday, July 24, 2008

7:00 pm
10th annual Monika Clowes Memorial Emerging Artist Concert
Gabriel Cabezas, cello
Born in 1992, this extraordinary young cellist has already performed as a soloist with The Cleveland Orchestra and in the televised program "From The Top : Live from Carnegie Hall." A finalist of the prestigious Young Concert Artists 2008 International Auditions and the 2006 Sphinx National Competition, his playing is "...remarkably poised and elegant, with superb attention to phrasing, nuance and tonal coloration." - The Cleveland Plain Dealer
J.S. Bach
Suite No. 5 for Cello in C minor, BWV 1011
Coleridge-Taylor Perkinson
Lamentation for Cello
Zoltán Kodály
Sonata for Cello, Op. 8